Spam in Blogs
I deleted the two of them. I just want to know if Blog.ca is doing anything to counteract this before it gets out of hand. And if one can report these people anywhere.
Trackback address for this post:
Comments, Trackbacks: Hide subcomments
I have also had a trackback today from a German to do with Ford Mustangs, pointing to an autodigest website... A bit puzzling seeing as my blogs were Private to everyone! Any advice would be appreciated. I'm on the UK version.
| Gatekeeper [Member] 2005-09-15 @ 14:41 |
Yea. I also got the Ford Mustang one, and 2 for the Mini Cooper. Frustrating.
| vasco team http://sommer.blog.de 2005-09-15 @ 14:52 |
what we are doing is to bring the captcha, the visual code needed to place a comment, in front of trackbacks, too. That will disallow Spam bots access to the trackback url. Spamming manually is not economical, but would then be the only way. That will, in our point of view, definately drive SPAM down. However, there is no 100% protection against SPAM so far....
This improvement is under way and should be online shortly.
| Shimon [Member] http://HumanPicture.Net 2005-09-16 @ 04:21 |
What I don't understand, is that even after I stopped comments on my blog, I continued to get these trackbacks! Is there no way for me to stop the possibility of leaving trackbacks?
| vasco team http://sommer.blog.de 2005-09-16 @ 09:02 |
This spambot probably looked at how how generate trackback-url-IDs. Then they simply went on and shot SPAM from #000000 to I dont´know what. That´s why we have to think about how to generate trackback-URLs in the future.
| JessicaSmith pro http://www.messyjessy.blog.co.uk 2005-09-15 @ 15:52 |
Yes I also got the Ford Mustang one and the Mini Cooper one in about 10 posts
2005-09-15 @ 16:21
Yep. These things are everywhere. It's like a plague following the blogs around!
Grrrr
im getting one in every post
Hey I switched off trackbacks and I am still getting these crappy things.
| Gatekeeper [Member] 2005-09-15 @ 22:17 |
Just had to delete about 4 of them, mostly the vehicle ones, but also a "games hint" page.
Sigh
| kiwi [Member] 2005-09-15 @ 23:42 |
I got many trackbacks to the autodigest site in the last few hours also. How can I delete them and turn off trackbacks. I tried to locate the control but I must be having a blonde moment??!!! :-))
| Jacquie [Member] 2005-09-15 @ 23:46 |
i have also gotten one for a bmw (um hello? check your demographic, I can't afford a bmw) and also for the gamer site. I'd mostly like to know how to get rid of them. I am new to this blog universe
| sylverfyre [Member] 2005-09-16 @ 00:08 |
Yeah, I've got 6 of these just in the past 5 hours. The more I delete the more come along!
| kiwi [Member] 2005-09-16 @ 00:18 |
It's okay - blonde moment over - I found the turn-off button. Thanks!!
| kiwi [Member] 2005-09-16 @ 00:20 |
In the "Settings" menu is the "Publishing" page - at the bottom is is trackbacks on/off option. Turn off and maybe.....? Hope so!
| Shimon [Member] http://HumanPicture.Net 2005-09-16 @ 04:25 |
thank you Kiwi. I just did that, and I hope it stops this whole business. It's disturbing. I think I'll write something about it in my blog
| Reify [Member] 2005-09-16 @ 06:59 |
Thanks for the suggestion....tried it, but found when pressing the SAVE button
it didn't continue, but returned and clicked save several more times. Finally
left the page and hope it was saved.
Guess some have more luck than others.
Intruders are obnoxious.
| Gatekeeper [Member] 2005-09-16 @ 05:00 |
I had to clear out even more... I think in total I had about 10 or so.. they just keep coming. Shimon - I think I too will post a small entry about them. I hope the administers get a work around quickly.. It's frustrating that no matter how much good things people do online, there are always there that want to ruin it for people.
| kiwi [Member] 2005-09-16 @ 08:44 |
So far so good for me. Turning off Trackbacks in the Settings/Publishing option has worked - no pesky auto trackbacks all day! Hope it works for you too!
| vasco team http://sommer.blog.de 2005-09-16 @ 08:48 |
Major Trackback-Spam-attack yesterday. Major. We are all not very happy about it. And we´re on it. Enough is enough.
1. We will introduce a visual code that one has to enter before being able to get to the trackback url. That´s already the case with comments.
2. We will have to do some thinking what regards the trackback url in general. We may have to generate it differently so that robots won´t be able to retrieve the URLs anymore.
Turning off trackbacks: click on the "settings" link of your blog and then go to the "publish" tab. You can turn-off trackbacks right there. But remember that trackbacks are often used in the blogosphere and spambots like the one yesterday go beyond that function. Some can spam you even if the trackback function is turned off. Which is why we have to do something about how we generate the URL.
| vasco team http://sommer.blog.de 2005-09-16 @ 08:56 |
These are the WHOIS entries for the domains SPAM was directed for (you can check http://www.whois.net).
Correct me, if I am wrong.
Domain Name:AUTODIGEST.ORG
Created On:19-Jul-2005 15:25:37 UTC
Expiration Date:19-Jul-2006 15:25:37 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:Critical Internet Inc. (R1345-LROR)
Status:TRANSFER PROHIBITED
Registrant ID:DI_1440157
Registrant Name:Gross
Registrant Organization:Susanin Ltd.
Registrant Street1:Otradnaya str., 3
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:Odessa
Registrant State/Province:
Registrant Postal Code:65012
Registrant Country:UA
Registrant Phone:+380.4821151313
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:mcity@te.net.ua
GAMESCHEATS.BIZ
Domain ID: D10792437-BIZ
Sponsoring Registrar: CRITICAL INTERNET, INC
Sponsoring Registrar IANA ID: 832
Domain Status: clientTransferProhibited
Registrant ID: DI_1779393
Registrant Name: Basil Pupkoff
Registrant Organization: No Company Yet
Registrant Address1: Green Way Str, 112
Registrant City: Kozolupinsk
Registrant Postal Code: 123456
Registrant Country: Russian Federation
Registrant Country Code: RU
Registrant Phone Number: +91.3929280
Registrant Email: donden@gmail.com
| Gatekeeper [Member] 2005-09-16 @ 09:15 |
yep, those look right. Time to send them about 100 pizza's.
| blumoon pro http://blumoon.blog.ca 2005-09-16 @ 09:44 |
Yes I came to this help blog today, due to spam, and I see I am not the only one. I got Nissan, Toyota, some gamer deal. I am hoping they stop soon. Is that wishful thinking?
| vasco team http://sommer.blog.de 2005-09-16 @ 10:50 |
We´re on it right now and we don´t intend to make it easier for these people.
| blumoon pro http://blumoon.blog.ca 2005-09-16 @ 16:39 |
Good to know. Is there anything we can do?
2005-09-26 @ 14:02
Can someone please direct me to where I can get the abuse email address of:
Sponsoring Registrar:Critical Internet Inc. (R1345-LROR)
I am receiving a lot of spam from sites listed with this registrar and know they are scams so would like to notify the registrar so the sites can be shut down.
Thanks for your help in advance.
I turned off the comments so that I have to approve them first but somehow the spam gets through. Mine is all coming on one blog entry and its all porn. As I am a priest and church people read my blog this is not funny. Today I have deleted about 10. Why are they getting through when nobody else's does?
2008-07-21 @ 00:45
i find this post everywhere best online casinos




2005-09-15 @ 14:39